Curriculum Maps

At Rokesly Infant and Nursery School we follow the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) Curriculum in Reception and Nursery classes, and the Primary National Curriculum in all a subject areas in Key Stage 1 classes.

We regularly review our curriculum to ensure that National Curriculum subjects are effectively covered. We go beyond the National Curriculum at Rokesly. We work to develop your child’s knowledge and understanding, but also develop their learning and life skills. We work to ensure our subject lessons are creative and engaging for all, taking advantage of the exciting opportunities offered both in and out of the classroom. We work hard to ensure our teaching reflects the diversity of our community and the interests of our children.

Children develop quickly in the early years and a child’s experiences before the age of five have a major impact on their future life chances. At Rokesly we recognize that every child deserves the best possible start in life and we provide the rich learning environment, opportunities and support that enables them to fulfil their potential.

Reception Year Curriculum maps

Our topics are broad in order to cover the EYFS curriculum for Reception. We follow the seasons and use themes that are close to childrens’ excperiences and understanding. Focus within each topic will change depending on childrens’ interests and needs. Use the links to preview the current year group medium term plans:

Our topics are broad in order to cover the EYFS curriculum for Reception. We follow the seasons and use themes that are close to childrens’ excperiences and understanding. Focus within each topic will change depending on childrens’ interests and needs. Use the links to preview the current year group medium term plans:

Infant Year 1 and 2 Curriculum maps

At Rokesly we organise our teaching of subject knowledge into themes. We use the Primary National Curriculum as our benchmark to sequence a progression of skills while also making links between different subjects. The content we teach at Rokesly creates readiness for your child’s future learning.
Use the links below to preview our year group curriculum maps:

Knowledge Organisers

At Rokesly we use knowledge organisers to support the children to learn and recall important facts, vocabulary and concepts that will support them as they move on to their next stage of learning. Our knowledge organisers are a summary, rather than a comprehensive list of all that the children could know. Children use them effectively to practise, study and develop links between different facts and ideas and we encourage you to use them at home, too. They are linked to each of our half-termly curriculum themes:

Festivals and Special assemblies

Throughout the school year at Rokesly Infants we regularly talk about and celebrate cultural festivals and those of the major faiths. As well as our work in class in the RE curriculum, we have special assemblies led by staff or parent volunteers to tell stories, show artefacts and talk about the traditions of these celebrations with the children.

Autumn Term 2023

Monday 11th September – Rosh Hashannah

Monday 18th September – Essential Skills – developing resilience – Kit Indicat

Monday 25th September – Resilience – Filling the Bucket

Monday 2nd October – Black History Month

Monday 9th October – Harvest and Giving

Friday 13th October – Harvest Celebration

Monday 16th October – Black History

Tuesday 31st October – Autumn Celebrations – Lights in the dark

Monday 6th November – Theme Week

Wednesday 8th November – Diwali

Monday 20th November – Road safety Week

Friday 24th November – Bright Day – Road Safety – BE SEEN

Monday 27th November – Essential Skills and building Resilience – Teamy Sharer

Monday 4th December – Advent

Tuesday 11th December – Year 1 Winter show

Monday 18th December – Pantomime – Snow White

Spring Term 2024

Monday 8th January – New beginnings / New Year

Monday 15th January – Essential skills – Explorer Amy Columbot

Monday 22nd January – Resilience – Belonging

Monday 29th January – Respect and Responsibility for living things – Chicks / pets

Thursday 1st February – Number Day

Monday 5th February – Chinese New Year – Dragon

Monday 19th February – Essential Skills – Active Participator – Jumpin Joinin

Monday 26th February – Resilience – Purpose

Monday 4th March – Mothers Day – Monkey Puzzle

Thursday 7th March – World Book Day

Summer Term 2024

Monday 15th April – Essential skills – Creative Thinker Owlbert Einstein

Monday 22nd April – Passover

11 + 6 =

Telephone

020 8340 7687

Address

Rokesly Infant and Nursery School,
Hermiston Avenue,
London, N8 8NH